Cryptoassets Regulatory Intelligence cryptoassets.gi
KR v13.3.0
content: unavailable legal review: unavailable (informational) publication gate: 1 failing model claude-sonnet-5

Based mainly on secondary sources. Only 2 of the sources retrieved for this jurisdiction are official or direct reporting of official material (tier 1 or 2), against the 3 we look for. No finding on this page is shown with confidence above “Uncertain” until stronger sources are retrieved.

South Korea

KR schema crypto-v2.0.0 trajectory: not yet assessedin transitionoverlaps: FIM, WPM

Last updated · 9 categories · 33 sourced findings · 41 sources in the cumulative register

9Categoriesbaseline.
33Findings.claims[]
0Tier-1 sourcesrun_metadata.t1_source_count
Confidence mix (sums to 9 rendered categories; click to filter)
No categories moved this cycle.

Jurisdiction lead brief

Latest update · 18 October 2026

Lead Signal

South Korea's stablecoin regime remains the pivotal unsettled piece of the jurisdiction's crypto framework this cycle. The Act on the Protection of Virtual Asset Users does not directly regulate stablecoin issuance structure, and the second-phase legislation intended to comprehensively govern issuance and distribution of stablecoins, including reserve-asset requirements, remains under active discussion at the Financial Services Commission and National Assembly with no confirmed submission date. Alongside this legislative gap, the Financial Services Commission issued user advisories on 16 October 2026 warning against perpetual futures products carrying leverage of ten to two hundred times on virtual assets and stocks offered via overseas platforms, an advisory that functions as perimeter-policing against unregistered high-leverage products in the absence of a settled stablecoin and digital-asset statute.

9 of 9 categories
Signal
Density

Selections OR within a group, AND across groups. Press / to search.

#

South Korea's baseline VASP registration and conduct-of-business regime under the FTRA and VAUPA is firmly in force and enforced, including bank real-name partnership and ISMS certification requirements that now also condition continued Korean Google Play listing for exchange apps. A comprehensive second-tier licensing overlay under the proposed Digital Asset Basic Act (DABA), covering trading, brokerage, custody, advisory and a provisionally-agreed 20% ownership cap on exchange shareholders, remains unenacted with H2 2026 as the next plausible checkpoint.

Standing sub-brief · as of 3 August 2026305 words · last cycle 2026-10-06

Crypto Licensing

South Korea's baseline licensing architecture rests on the Act on Reporting and Use of Specified Financial Transaction Information (FTRA) and the Virtual Asset User Protection Act (VAUPA), both firmly in force and actively enforced. VASP registration with the Korea Financial Intelligence Unit (FIU) requires a bank real-name account partnership and ISMS security certification (CLM-KR-a1c4e8b2); this baseline conduct regime has real market-access consequences beyond domestic enforcement -- Google Play now requires demonstration of FIU VASP registration for exchange apps to remain listed on the Korean store, effective 28 January 2026 (CLM-KR-b3f7d21a).

Periodic update · new data 2026-10-06

Crypto Licensing

The proposed share-exchange merger between Naver Financial and Dunamu, Korea's largest cryptocurrency exchange operator, has been delayed again according to a 6 July 2026 press report. Shareholder meetings, originally set for 18 August 2026, have been moved to 19 November 2026, and the share-exchange date, originally 30 September 2026, has been re-targeted to 31 December 2026.

This development is sourced to a single Korean business-press outlet (Hankyung). No DART corporate filing, FSC notice, or Korea Fair Trade Commission filing has been located to corroborate the re-timing, so it is treated as a press-reported data point on the transaction's progress rather than a regulator-confirmed milestone. The underlying reasons for the repeated delay are not established by the available sourcing.

The transaction is material to Korea's crypto-licensing landscape because Dunamu operates Korea's largest cryptocurrency exchange, and a completed share exchange would bring that exchange under the same corporate structure as a major payments and financial-services platform, with implications for how exchange licensing and corporate ownership interact going forward.

Outlook

The newly stated 19 November 2026 shareholder-meeting date and 31 December 2026 share-exchange date are the next milestones to track for this transaction. Given that this is already a second reported delay, uncorroborated by any primary regulatory or corporate filing, confirmation through a DART disclosure or FSC/KFTC filing would materially strengthen confidence in the transaction timeline.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T4 · CoinDeskKorea Financial Intelligence Unit (FIU) — VASP registration with bank real-name partnership and ISMS security certificationretrieved M5bindingin forcenew
  2. T4 · The BlockGoogle Play — demonstration of FIU VASP registration to remain listed on the Korean Google Play storeretrieved M2bindingin forcenew
  3. T4 · CoinDeskDigital Asset Basic Act (DABA) proposal — licensing, registration and reporting requirements for digital asset trading, brokerage, custody and advisory businessesretrieved M4non-bindingproposednew
  4. T4 · The BlockFSC / ruling party negotiators — 20% cap on major-shareholder stakes in crypto exchanges under forthcoming DABA, with exceptions to 34% and a 3-year grace period for incumbentsretrieved M3non-bindingproposednew

#

Security tokens are governed by the FSC's 2023 Token Securities Guidelines and, prospectively, by Capital Markets Act/Electronic Securities Act amendments enacted 15 January 2026 but not effective until approximately February 2027 (corrected this cycle from an initial in_force mislabeling). NFT classification remains case-by-case based on fungibility, fractionalizability and payment capability, and the classification of tokenized stocks as securities versus virtual assets remains unresolved pending FSC concurrence with the Ministry of Economy and Finance.

Standing sub-brief · as of 3 August 2026333 words · last cycle 2026-10-06

Token Classification

Korea's token-classification regime splits most clearly into three tracks this cycle. First, security tokens: the FSC's 2023 Token Securities Guidelines require digital assets that correspond to securities under the Capital Markets Act to be issued and distributed under securities regulation (CLM-KR-e1a9c7d5), and the National Assembly went further by enacting amendments to the Capital Markets Act and Electronic Securities Act that institutionalize issuance and trading of tokenized securities via distributed ledger technology. Those amendments passed on 15 January 2026 but do not take effect until approximately February 2027 -- this cycle corrected an initial mislabeling of the claim as already in force, restoring the roughly one-year enactment-to-commencement gap documented in Chambers and Seoul Economic Daily reporting (CLM-KR-f2b3d8e6). Until February 2027, the DLT-based securities-issuance pathway the amendments create is legislated but legally inert.

Periodic update · new data 2026-10-06

Token Classification

The Financial Services Commission has opened formal pre-announcement (입법예고) of subordinate-regulation amendments under the Electronic Securities Act and the Capital Markets Act concerning token securities. The notice period runs from 2 October to 11 November 2026, and the amending Acts themselves are scheduled to take effect on 4 February 2027. This confirmed development corrects an earlier, unverified placement of the pre-announcement in late September 2026.

The approach works through Korea's existing securities-law architecture rather than creating a standalone digital-asset classification regime: token securities are being addressed through subordinate regulations beneath the Electronic Securities Act and the Capital Markets Act, which will set out how token-form securities are registered, issued and traded within the established capital-markets framework. This signals that Korea is extending its existing securities perimeter to capture token securities specifically, rather than classifying tokens generally through a separate crypto-asset statute.

As the amendments are presently at the pre-announcement/comment stage, the precise classification boundaries, including which token structures fall within the token-securities definition being targeted by the subordinate rules, are not yet settled. The six-week comment period to 11 November 2026 is the formal opportunity for stakeholders to respond before the rules are finalised ahead of the 4 February 2027 commencement date.

Outlook

Two dates anchor the near-term classification picture: the close of the comment period on 11 November 2026 and the scheduled commencement of the amending Acts on 4 February 2027. The content of the finalized subordinate regulations, once published after the comment period closes, will be the next material development to establish the actual classification boundary for token securities under Korean law.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T4 · CoinDeskFinancial Services Commission (FSC) — digital assets corresponding to securities under the Capital Markets Act to be issued/distributed under securities regulation, per 2023 Token Securities Guidelinesretrieved M4bindingin forcenew
  2. T3 · Chambers and PartnersNational Assembly of South Korea — amendments to the Capital Markets Act and Electronic Securities Act institutionalizing issuance/trading of tokenized (security) instruments via distributed ledger technologyretrieved M5bindingenacted not yet effectiveupdated
  3. T4 · The BlockFinancial Services Commission (FSC) — NFTs as ordinary virtual assets on a case-by-case basis where mass-produced, fungible, fractionalizable, or payment-capable; low-value non-transferable NFTs remain outside crypto regulationretrieved M3bindingin forcenew
  4. T4 · The BlockMinistry of Economy and Finance — tokenized stocks as securities rather than virtual assets, pending FSC concurrence before Capital Markets Act tax/disclosure treatment appliesretrieved M3non-bindingnew

#

Only centralized-exchange crypto lending is directly regulated, via an FSC/DAXA guideline capping interest at 20% and banning leveraged lending beyond collateral value for top-20 assets. Staking, DeFi, mining, node operation and validator activity remain wholly unaddressed by Korean statute, a persistent gap pending DABA implementation.

Standing sub-brief · as of 3 August 2026232 words · last cycle 2026-08-03

On-Chain Activity Regime

Korea's on-chain activity regime is narrow and centralized-exchange-specific. The only directly regulated on-chain-adjacent activity is centralized crypto lending: an FSC/DAXA guideline caps lending interest at 20%, bans leveraged lending that exceeds collateral value, and limits eligible lending to the top 20 cryptocurrencies by market capitalization (CLM-KR-c3e7a1f8). Outside that guideline, Korea has no dedicated statutory or regulatory framework for staking, DeFi protocol operation, mining, node operation, or validator activity (CLM-KR-d9f1b3a2) -- a genuine and sourced regulatory gap, reflecting that VAUPA and the FTRA's scope does not extend to market-structure or on-chain-specific issues. Reporting on capital flight (US$110 billion in crypto leaving Korea in 2025) is cited as context for this gap's practical significance, though that reporting does not itself establish causation between the regulatory gap and the outflow.

no periodic updates on record for this sub-brief

Sources and findings (2)
  1. T4 · The BlockFSC / Digital Asset Exchange Alliance (DAXA) — crypto lending interest at 20%, bans leveraged lending exceeding collateral value, limited to top-20 market-cap assetsretrieved M4bindingin forcenew
  2. T4 · CoinDeskSouth Korea (VAUPA/FTRA regime) — a dedicated statutory or regulatory framework for staking, DeFi, mining, node operation or validator activityretrieved M2non-bindingnew

#

South Korea has no binding stablecoin issuance framework; KRW-pegged pilots remain non-circulating proof-of-concept deployments. The proposed DABA stablecoin-issuer authorization regime -- covering capital, reserve custody, redemption rights and disclosure standards -- remains deadlocked over a Bank of Korea demand for majority-bank ownership of issuers versus the FSC's more flexible stance, with no systemic-designation regime for large stablecoins yet drafted.

Standing sub-brief · as of 3 August 2026323 words · last cycle 2026-10-18

Stablecoin Regime

Korea currently has no binding regulatory framework for stablecoin issuance. KRW-pegged token launches, such as BDACS KRW1, remain non-circulating proof-of-concept deployments rather than live payment instruments (CLM-KR-e4a2c8f7). The vehicle intended to close this gap -- the Digital Asset Basic Act -- would require authorization for entities issuing value-linked digital assets, including fiat- or RWA-pegged stablecoins, subject to capital, operational and reserve-plan requirements (CLM-KR-f5b3d9a8). Draft provisions would further require issuers to hold reserves in bank deposits or government bonds and to entrust 100% of outstanding reserves with bank custodians (CLM-KR-a6c4e1b9), define value-linked digital assets as carrying redemption obligations to protect holders (CLM-KR-b7d5f2c1), and extend disclosure, terms-of-service and advertising standards comparable to traditional finance to stablecoin issuers (CLM-KR-c8e6a3d2). An earlier FSC draft would have allowed foreign-issued stablecoins such as USDC into the Korean market only if licensed and operating through a local branch or subsidiary (CLM-KR-d9f7b4e3), though this provision's status within the current negotiation is unclear.

Periodic update · new data 2026-10-18

Stablecoin Regime

South Korea's stablecoin regime sits in an unresolved legislative gap. The Act on the Protection of Virtual Asset Users (VAUPA) does not directly regulate the structure of stablecoin issuance; comprehensive second-phase legislation intended to govern the issuance and distribution of stablecoins, including reserve-asset requirements, remains under discussion between the Financial Services Commission and the National Assembly, with no confirmed timeline for submission or passage as of 5 October 2026. In the absence of a dedicated statutory framework, the Financial Services Commission has instead relied on supervisory advisory tools: on 16 October 2026 it issued user advisories warning against perpetual futures products carrying leverage of ten to two hundred times, tied to virtual assets and stocks and offered through overseas platforms. This advisory activity illustrates the regulator's current posture toward unregistered or offshore high-leverage digital-asset products in a period where the underlying legislative framework for stablecoins and comparable instruments has not yet been settled. The gap between the in-force VASP/VAUPA user-protection baseline and the still-pending Phase-2 stablecoin-specific legislation means that stablecoin issuers, reserve requirements and issuer-eligibility criteria remain unsettled matters for market participants operating in or targeting the Korean market.

Outlook

The stablecoin regime's near-term trajectory is tied entirely to the progress of the Phase-2 Digital Asset Basic Act through the National Assembly; without confirmed submission and passage, reserve-asset and issuer-eligibility requirements for stablecoins will remain unsettled. In the interim, the Financial Services Commission's advisory-based approach to perimeter-policing high-leverage derivative products suggests continued reliance on supervisory warnings rather than binding rules for stablecoin-adjacent product categories until the legislative gap closes.

Sources and findings (7)
  1. T4 · The BlockSouth Korea — a regulatory framework for stablecoins; KRW-pegged token launches (e.g. BDACS KRW1) remain non-circulating proof-of-conceptretrieved M4non-bindingnew
  2. T4 · CoinDeskDigital Asset Basic Act (DABA) proposal — authorization for entities issuing value-linked digital assets (including fiat/RWA-pegged stablecoins), meeting capital, operational and reserve-plan requirementsretrieved M5non-bindingproposednew
  3. T4 · CoinDeskDABA government proposal — stablecoin issuers to manage reserves in bank deposits or government bonds and entrust 100% of outstanding reserves with bank custodiansretrieved M5non-bindingproposednew
  4. T4 · CoinDeskDABA government proposal — value-linked digital assets as requiring issuer authorization, refund reserves and redemption obligations to protect holdersretrieved M4non-bindingproposednew
  5. T4 · CoinDeskDABA government proposal — disclosure, terms-of-service and advertising standards on digital asset service providers, including stablecoin issuers, comparable to traditional financeretrieved M3non-bindingproposednew
  6. T4 · CoinDeskEarlier FSC draft stablecoin proposal — foreign-issued stablecoins (e.g. USDC) in South Korea only if licensed and operating through a local branch or subsidiaryretrieved M3non-bindingproposednew
  7. T4 · CoinDeskSouth Korea (current DABA drafts) — a systemic-designation regime for large stablecoinsretrieved M2non-bindingnew

#

Core VAUPA custody segregation (80% cold storage), bank-delegated cash custody, and insurance/reserve-fund protections are in force and enforced. An April 2026 mandatory withdrawal-delay order targets voice-phishing fraud, while a drafted 5%-of-equity institutional crypto-allocation cap remains at guideline stage.

Standing sub-brief · as of 3 August 2026261 words · last cycle 2026-10-12

Consumer Protection

Korea's core consumer-protection framework, the Virtual Asset User Protection Act (VAUPA), has been in force since 19 July 2024 and is actively enforced. It requires exchanges to keep at least 80% of user crypto deposits in segregated cold storage (CLM-KR-f2b9d6a5), to delegate cash-deposit custody to a licensed local bank while maintaining cryptocurrency reserves matched to customer deposits (CLM-KR-a3c7e4f9), and to enroll in adequate insurance or establish a reserve fund against hacking or liquidity-crisis losses (CLM-KR-b4d8f1e6). This baseline has been supplemented rather than replaced: in April 2026 the FSC and Financial Supervisory Service ordered all domestic exchanges to adopt a unified mandatory withdrawal-delay system specifically to counter voice-phishing fraud (CLM-KR-c5e9a2d3), extending the consumer-protection perimeter into fraud-prevention mechanics rather than custody or capital adequacy.

Periodic update · new data 2026-10-12

Consumer Protection

Korea's consumer-protection framework for virtual-asset users rests on the Virtual Asset User Protection Act's (VAUPA) requirements for custody segregation and information-security standards, which VASPs must maintain alongside their KoFIU registration. This cycle's signal in this module is an escalating enforcement trajectory: the Financial Intelligence Unit found KYC and custody-adjacent compliance failures at three of Korea's largest exchanges during 2025-2026, resulting in fines and partial-suspension sanctions at each. Bithumb was fined approximately $24 million with a six-month partial suspension, disclosed 16 March 2026, following an on-site inspection; this is the most recent and highest-profile of the three actions, and it is Probable-confidence given its Tier-3 sourcing.

A structurally significant absence in Korea's current consumer-protection framework is the lack of a dedicated market-abuse or market-integrity regime comparable to MiCA's Title VI. Market-abuse-type provisions for digital assets are expected only via the pending Digital Asset Basic Act; under current law, no equivalent framework is in force. This is treated as a negative finding with Uncertain confidence, since the absence is inferred from commentary discussing DABA's prospective scope rather than confirmed against a specific statute that defines the current gap. The custody-segregation and information-security obligations that are in force represent baseline user protection; the market-abuse and broader conduct-of-business rules that would typically accompany those baseline protections in a comprehensive regime remain pending.

The pattern across Upbit, Bithumb and Korbit — repeated KYC and custody-adjacent findings resulting in sanctions across a roughly twelve-month period — indicates that Korea's existing consumer-protection enforcement machinery is active and is identifying real compliance gaps at scale, even while the more comprehensive market-conduct framework contemplated under DABA remains unenacted.

Outlook

Continued enforcement activity against Korea's major exchanges is likely to persist under the existing VAUPA framework regardless of DABA's legislative timeline, since custody-segregation and KYC obligations are already in force and already being actively supervised. The market-abuse gap, by contrast, will persist until DABA or an equivalent instrument is enacted; no interim market-abuse measure under current law was identified this cycle.

Sources and findings (5)
  1. T4 · The BlockVirtual Asset User Protection Act (VAUPA) — safekeeping of at least 80% of user crypto deposits in segregated cold storageretrieved M5bindingin forcenew
  2. T4 · The BlockVirtual Asset User Protection Act (VAUPA) — exchanges to delegate cash-deposit custody to a licensed local bank and maintain cryptocurrency reserves matched to customer depositsretrieved M4bindingin forcenew
  3. T4 · The BlockVirtual Asset User Protection Act (VAUPA) — crypto service providers to enroll in adequate insurance or establish a reserve fund against hacks or liquidity crisesretrieved M4bindingin forcenew
  4. T4 · CoinDeskFSC / Financial Supervisory Service (FSS) — all domestic cryptocurrency exchanges to adopt a unified mandatory withdrawal-delay system to counter voice-phishing fraudretrieved M4bindingin forcenew
  5. T4 · CoinDeskFinancial Services Commission (FSC) — guidelines capping listed-company and professional-investor crypto allocations at 5% of equity capital annually, limited to the top 20 cryptocurrencies by market valueretrieved M3non-bindingproposednew

#

The 2027 crypto income tax (20%/22% 'other income' above a 2.5 million won deduction) is enacted but not yet effective, and faces an active repeal bill referred to a National Assembly subcommittee on 29 July 2026 -- the third such delay effort since 2022. A separate, unresolved question is whether tokenized stocks will be taxed as securities under the Capital Markets Act pending FSC concurrence with the Ministry of Economy and Finance.

Standing sub-brief · as of 3 August 2026314 words · last cycle 2026-08-03

Tax Treatment

Korea's crypto income tax is formally enacted but not yet effective. Under the Income Tax Act's virtual asset income provisions, income from transferring or lending crypto will be taxed as "other income" at a 20% national rate (22% including local tax) on gains above an annual 2.5 million won deduction, with an effective date of 1 January 2027 (CLM-KR-e7a4c9f2). That fixed effective date is now under active political challenge: a bill to abolish the tax was referred to a National Assembly subcommittee on 29 July 2026, the third such delay or repeal effort since the tax was originally targeted for introduction in 2022 (CLM-KR-f8b5d1e3). This repeal effort introduces material implementation uncertainty around a claim that otherwise reads as a settled, dated commitment. In parallel, the National Tax Service is developing an AI-based system to track and analyze crypto transactions ahead of the planned 2027 start, an operational and administrative measure rather than a binding legal obligation in itself (CLM-KR-a9c6e3f7).

no periodic updates on record for this sub-brief

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T4 · CoinDeskIncome Tax Act (virtual asset income provisions) — income from transferring or lending crypto as 'other income' at 20% national tax (22% incl. local tax) on gains above an annual 2.5 million won deduction, effective January 1, 2027retrieved M5bindingenacted not yet effectivenew
  2. T4 · CoinDeskNational Assembly subcommittee — a bill to abolish the scheduled 2027 crypto income tax to a National Assembly subcommittee, referred July 29, 2026retrieved M4non-bindingproposednew
  3. T4 · The BlockNational Tax Service (NTS) — an AI-based system to track and analyze crypto transactions ahead of the planned 2027 tax startretrieved M2non-bindingnew
  4. T4 · The BlockMinistry of Economy and Finance — tokenized stocks as securities, potentially opening Capital Markets Act taxation as early as H2 2026 if the FSC concurs, including for tokens issued via overseas platformsretrieved M3non-bindingnew

#

The FTRA Travel Rule (in force since March 2022, threshold 1,000,000 won) is set for possible threshold removal per FSC plans. A May 2026 Foreign Exchange Transactions Act amendment adds a cross-border virtual-asset-transfer-business registration requirement, enacted but with an effective date not yet established from available sourcing; the Bank of Korea has separately planned (not yet in force) monthly cross-border transaction reporting.

Standing sub-brief · as of 3 August 2026293 words · last cycle 2026-10-12

Cross-Border Transfer

Korea's cross-border and Travel Rule architecture is tightening on two separate tracks. The FTRA Travel Rule has required exchanges to collect and store sender and recipient information for crypto transfers exceeding 1,000,000 won since 25 March 2022 (CLM-KR-c2e9a7d4), and the FSC has since announced plans to expand Travel Rule coverage to all crypto transactions by removing that threshold entirely (CLM-KR-d3f1b8e5) -- a proposal that would materially broaden the population of transactions subject to sender/recipient data collection.

Periodic update · new data 2026-10-12

Cross-Border Transfer

Korea's cross-border virtual-asset transfer regime is tightening structurally under an Enforcement Decree amendment to the Act on Reporting and Using Specified Financial Transaction Information. The amendment establishes a risk-tiered framework for transfers from domestic VASPs to overseas counterparties: transfers to overseas VASPs classified as low-risk are permitted without further restriction; transfers to other overseas VASPs, or to self-hosted wallets, are permitted only where the sender and recipient are confirmed to be the same person; and transfers to high-risk counterparties are prohibited outright. This risk-tiered structure commences alongside the zero-threshold domestic Travel Rule change, approximately six months after the decree's promulgation on 18 August 2026, placing the effective date around 19-20 February 2027.

A related provision requires domestic VASPs to apply internal suspicious-transaction monitoring for cross-border transfers of KRW 10 million or more to overseas VASPs or self-hosted wallets. Notably, an earlier draft of this provision reportedly contained a mandatory suspicious-transaction-report trigger at this threshold, but the final decree softened this to a provider-operated monitoring-system requirement rather than an automatic reporting obligation. This softening is a meaningful detail: it indicates the final rule gives VASPs more operational discretion in how they structure their cross-border monitoring systems than the mandatory-STR approach initially contemplated.

Confidence in both the risk-tiered structure and the monitoring threshold is Probable, since no direct primary fsc.go.kr or kofiu.go.kr notice for the Enforcement Decree amendment was retrieved this cycle; coverage instead relies on multiple Tier-3 crypto-compliance trade-press sources that corroborate each other on the substance of the change.

Outlook

The period to February 2027 is the implementation window for VASPs to build the risk-tiering and KRW 10 million monitoring-threshold systems this regime requires. The same-person-confirmation requirement for self-hosted-wallet transfers in particular represents an operationally demanding compliance burden, since it requires VASPs to verify counterparty identity for an entire category of transfers that previously required no such verification under the de minimis exemption.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T4 · The BlockFTRA Travel Rule / Korea FIU — collection and storage of sender/recipient information by exchanges for crypto transfers exceeding 1,000,000 won (FATF Travel Rule)retrieved M4bindingin forcenew
  2. T4 · The BlockFinancial Services Commission (FSC) — to expand Travel Rule requirements to cover all crypto transactions, removing the 1,000,000 won thresholdretrieved M3non-bindingproposednew
  3. T4 · The BlockForeign Exchange Transactions Act (amended) — entities conducting cross-border 'virtual asset transfer business' (including exchanges and custody firms) to register with the Minister of Economy and Financeretrieved M4bindingenacted not yet effectivenew
  4. T4 · The BlockBank of Korea — to require monthly pre-registration/reporting of cross-border stablecoin/crypto transactions to curb FX-related crypto crimeretrieved M3bindingproposednew

#

This module is intentionally unpopulated with original claims. AML/CFT surface coverage for Korea -- including Travel Rule administration and FIU KYC/STR enforcement -- is subscribed from the financial-integrity monitor pending fleet-wide consolidation, and is carried here as a placeholder only.

Rules for crypto-asset service providers · from Sentinel.gi · verified 2026-07-05
  • Enforcement Decree of the Act on Reporting and Using Specified Financial Transaction Information (amendment) — VASPs must apply Travel Rule originator/beneficiary information-sharing to every domestic VASP-to-VASP transfer regardless of value, removing the prior ~KRW 1,000,000 de minimis exemption. (commenced future; in force 2027-02-19) source, 2026-08-11

Not yet covered by Sentinel.gi for this jurisdiction: suspicious transaction reporting for CASPs: recipient FIUs, deadlines, consent or moratorium periods, account freezes, suspension duties and recognition criteria; sanctions asset freezes as distinct from AML reporting, sectoral crypto-service bans, designation list sources and crypto-relevant designations; how AML registration interacts with a new cryptoasset authorisation regime and which AML duties continue; prohibitions on anonymous accounts and anonymity-enhancing assets and their application dates; wallet-address screening and on- and off-chain transaction monitoring requirements and supervisory expectations; recent changes to crypto-transfer AML instruments, including revocations and replacements.

Absence reason not determinableNo sub-brief exists and the JID records no gap or review marker explaining why. The renderer will not invent a reason.

no periodic updates on record for this sub-brief

#

## Commercial Activity Three distinct commercial developments mark an escalating pattern of consolidation and infrastructure investment in Korea's crypto sector this cycle. Hana Bank disclosed what is reported as an acquisition of an approximately $670 million stake in Dunamu, the operator of the Upbit exchange; the stage is announced/disclosed, with the amount reported in press coverage rather than confirmed via a company filing, and confidence is accordingly Uncertain. Separately, Kiwoom Securities reportedly entered negotiations — at the rumoured stage — to acquire a stake in Bithumb Korea Co., Ltd. via third-party new-share allocation; neither the investment size nor the resulting stake percentage has been disclosed, and this item carries Uncertain confidence given its rumoured status. The third development is BTQ Technologies' naming as security partner for MoonPay Korea's won-stablecoin infrastructure, applying post-quantum cryptography across issuance, distribution, self-custody wallets, settlement and merchant delivery; Woori Bank is the inaugural member of MoonPay Korea's KRW Stablecoin Consortium. This was announced 9 October 2026, with deal value not disclosed; confidence is Probable, reflecting press-release-sourced reporting via a trade outlet. Taken together, these three items show capital and infrastructure commitments flowing into Korea's crypto sector from multiple directions simultaneously: a major bank taking an equity position in an established exchange, a securities brokerage reportedly pursuing a stake in a second major exchange, and a stablecoin-infrastructure security partnership backed by a third bank. This is well-sourced, active commercial consolidation activity, even though two of the three items (the Hana Bank/Dunamu stake and the Kiwoom/Bithumb negotiation) rest on press reporting rather than confirmed company filings. ## Outlook Further disclosure or confirmation of deal terms for the Hana Bank/Dunamu stake and the Kiwoom Securities/Bithumb negotiation would be the natural next development to watch, given that both currently rest on unconfirmed or rumoured reporting. The broader pattern of traditional-finance entry into crypto-exchange ownership and stablecoin infrastructure is likely to continue given the multiple parallel tracks already visible this cycle.

no periodic updates on record for this sub-brief

Sources and findings (3)
  1. T3Hana Bank / Dunamu — Commercial event: Hana Bank disclosed a reported acquisition of a ~$670 million stake in Dunamu (Upbit operator); stage = announced/disclosed; amount reported, not confirmed via a company filing.retrieved M4non-binding
  2. T3Kiwoom Securities / Bithumb — Commercial event: Kiwoom Securities entered negotiations (reported, stage = rumoured/in talks) to acquire a stake in Bithumb via third-party new-share allocation; investment size and resulting stake percentage undisclosed.retrieved M3non-binding
  3. T3BTQ Technologies / MoonPay Korea — Commercial event: BTQ Technologies (incorporated outside KR) named security partner for MoonPay Korea's won-stablecoin infrastructure (post-quantum cryptography); Woori Bank (KR) is the inaugural member of MoonPay Korea's KRW Stablecoin Consortium; announced 9 Oct 2026; deal value not disclosed.retrieved M3non-binding
No categories match.

Filters combine as OR inside a group and AND across groups.

Publication gate

Blocking. 1 failing check(s).

schema_validpass
source_tier_integrity_okpass
every_practical_object_has_source_idn/a — no subject in this jurisdiction
min_quoted_text_presentwaived — floor 0%
egress_verifiedpass
aggregator_only_jurisdiction_count1
jurisdiction_source_floor_metFAIL
manual_override
tier_a_b_national_primary_pct0.0

Editorial metadata

Provenance only. Nothing below gates publication or affects the render.

Editorial metadata for South Korea
FieldValue
trust.lawyer_review.statusunavailable
trust.lawyer_review.reviewerno reviewer on record
trust.content_sourceunavailable

Provenance and declared absence

Disclosure model: module cards load OPEN; standing positions render in full; sub-briefs and jurisdiction briefs load as a clamped teaser with an explicit “read full” control carrying the true word count; earlier updates stay collapsed behind a counted summary. No text is hidden without disclosing how much of it there is.

Sentinel-fed modules receive no special rendering treatment. sentinel_feed is an attribution chip only: it does not suppress content, does not generate an absence reason code, and does not exclude the module from any count, filter, search index or export on this page.

Family taxonomy is renderer-level presentation config, not a JID field. Colour is always duplicated in text and is never the sole carrier of meaning.

Suppressed by doctrine: derived risk score; per-module RAG traffic light; derived_scores = {}.

Band honesty: uncertainty bands are computed against a frozen build clock of 2026-10-20. A year-precision row is never promoted into a tighter band.

Orphan deltas: 0 cycle_delta row(s) target non-module objects and are listed in the rail rather than attached to a card.

Envelope: baseline resolved at jurisdiction_json.baseline; 9 module(s), 33 finding(s), 41 source(s) in the cumulative register.

Audit trail

Machine checkChallenged on 6 Oct 2026: nothing tested (no claim on this page was eligible for an automated test). An automated, adversarial test run by a second model; no person has assessed the result.

Think something on this page is wrong? Report an error.