Cryptoassets Regulatory Intelligence

Mexico Crypto & Digital Asset Regulation

MX schema crypto-v2.0.0 trajectory: not yet assessed in transition overlaps: Sentinel (AML/CFT), World Payments

Last updated · 9 categories · 50 sourced findings · 31 sources in the cumulative register

Evidence re-verified: ·Position last changed: ·
Record history & provenance ▾

Methodology & record provenance: Module confidence is derived from the underlying claims (source tier and primary excerpt retention), while statutory legal force is tracked independently.

Review status: AI-synthesised · Tier-1/2 verified · As-of date: 2026-10-26

Framework postureIn transition8 of 9 modules populated · AI-synthesised · Tier-1/2 verified
Lead supervisory authorityCoinDeskPrimary statutory & supervisory perimeter
Next milestone (> 2026-10-26)2027AVE stablecoin bill committee progress
Module coverage & confidence8 / 9 modules assessed0 Confirmed · 8 Probable · 0 Uncertain · 1 Not yet assessed

Jurisdiction lead brief

Latest update · 4 November 2026

Lead Signal

Mexico's virtual-asset perimeter continues to narrow its substance while loosening its process. The core restriction is unchanged: only CNBV-authorized Instituciones de Tecnología Financiera may conduct virtual-asset operations, and only for internal purposes, subject to prior Banxico authorization under the 2018 Fintech Law. Regulated banks and brokerages remain barred from offering virtual-asset exchange, custody or transfer services directly to retail customers, a prohibition that Banxico, the CNBV and the finance ministry have jointly reaffirmed. What moved is administrative rather than substantive: a CNBV Acuerdo published in the Diario Oficial de la Federación on 18 May 2026 consolidated and simplified eight procedures for authorized institutions, including an anti-money-laundering reporting portal, without touching the underlying licensing perimeter. Read together, Mexico is making life procedurally easier for the small number of entities already inside its narrow authorized perimeter, while giving no sign of widening who may enter it.

Key regulatory facts for Mexico
Regulatory DimensionMexico Standing Position
JurisdictionMexico (MX)
Regulatory ScopeCrypto & Digital Asset Regulation (9 modules, 50 sourced findings)
Crypto LicensingMexico's Ley para Regular las Instituciones de Tecnología Financiera (Ley Fintech, 2018) is the only statute that expressly names virtual assets, but it operates as a restrictive gate rather than a full VASP...
Token ClassificationMexico lacks a comprehensive statutory taxonomy for token types.
On-Chain Activity RegimeNo Mexican statute or regulator guidance was identified that specifically addresses staking, DeFi lending, DEX operation, mining, node operation, validator activity, or tokenization as distinct regulated categories.
Stablecoin RegimeMexico has no dedicated stablecoin statute governing issuance authorization, reserve requirements, redemption rights, disclosure, or systemic designation.
Primary Instruments CitedCoinDesk, CoinDesk, Brogan Law PLLC (via SEC.gov), Mexico (CNBV-authorized ITF regime), Mexico (individuals and non-financial businesses)
Last Confirmed / Updated2026-11-04 (31 sources in cumulative register)

#

Mexico's Ley para Regular las Instituciones de Tecnología Financiera (Ley Fintech, 2018) is the only statute that expressly names virtual assets, but it operates as a restrictive gate rather than a full VASP licensing regime: fintech institutions (ITFs) may only operate with virtual assets that Banco de México (Banxico) affirmatively determines via general provisions, and must obtain Banxico's prior authorization to do so. In practice Banxico has not exercised this authorization power to permit ITFs to deal in cryptoassets, and a joint 2021 Banxico/CNBV/SHCP communiqué (reaffirmed in Banxico's December 2025 year-end report) bars regulated banks and fintechs from offering virtual-asset services to customers. Non-bank exchanges (e.g., Bitso) operate outside the ITF authorization perimeter and are treated instead as AML-obligated entities. CNBV has also shown willingness to grant case-by-case no-action relief (Resolution P090/2024) where a token does not meet the Securities Market Law's definition of a security.

Open gap — crypto-int-1Has Banxico issued any formal authorization permitting any regulated entity to operate with virtual assets since the September 2026 reaffirmation of the general prohibition on banks offering crypto directly?Primary-source verification gap.
Open gap — crypto-mx-gap-001No CNBV.gob.mx or Banxico.org.mx page was directly retrieved this pass; only secondary press/compliance-blog sources, so T1 anchors are absent for every module.no under-indexing note recorded
Horizon · 2027 (± more than a year)CNBV 'Ley Fintech 2.0' overhaul discussionConsultation · Tier 3 source
Standing sub-brief · as of 25 August 2026 394 words · last cycle 2026-10-04

Crypto Licensing

Mexico's foundational licensing position for cryptoassets is one of default permissibility for ordinary participants and near-prohibition for the regulated financial sector, and both halves of that split remain grounded in the same Fintech Law framework. For individuals and non-financial businesses, no specific VASP licence is required to buy, sell, or hold cryptoassets, and the practical outcome is generally determined case-by-case according to the characteristics of the token in question rather than by reference to a dedicated authorisation regime (CLM-MX-a1f30ce2). That permissive default does not extend to Mexico's regulated financial institutions. Article 30 of the Fintech Law (Ley para Regular las Instituciones de Tecnología Financiera) provides that banks and Instituciones de Fondos de Pago Electrónico (IFPEs) may only operate with virtual assets that have been previously authorised by Banco de México, and any such operation remains under CNBV supervision (CLM-MX-b7e214aa). In practice, that authorisation gate has functioned as a near-blanket restriction rather than a routine licensing channel: Banxico's Circular 4/2019 effectively bars banks and licensed fintechs from offering crypto custody, exchange, or transmission services directly to retail clients (CLM-MX-c88df310). The combined effect is a bifurcated market structure in which the retail cryptoasset economy operates largely outside any dedicated licensing perimeter, while the country's licensed financial institutions are functionally excluded from serving that same retail market directly in virtual assets. CNBV is the identified supervisory authority for the institutional side of this framework, and the primary legal architecture in force is the Fintech Law's Article 30 read together with Circular 4/2019.

No new data since the standing brief. 1 periodic run re-emitted it unchanged.

Sources and findings (15)
  1. T3CoinDesk — Fintech institutions (ITFs) may only operate with virtual assets determined by Banco de México through general provisions and must obtain Banxico's prior authorization before conducting operations with such virtual assets. retrieved M5 binding in force
  2. T3CoinDesk — Banks and fintech firms in Mexico have been barred from offering cryptocurrency services directly to customers since the 2021 joint Banxico/CNBV/SHCP policy statement, a position Banxico reaffirmed in its December 2025 year-end report. retrieved M5 binding in force
  3. T3Brogan Law PLLC (via SEC.gov) — CNBV can grant case-by-case no-action relief exempting a digital token from prior authorization/registration under the Securities Market Law where the token does not constitute a security, as it did for Etherfuse Liquid via Resolution P090/2024. retrieved M3 binding in force
  4. T3Mexico (CNBV-authorized ITF regime) — Virtual-asset operations in Mexico may only be carried out by CNBV-authorized Instituciones de Tecnología Financiera (ITF), and only for internal operations, subject to prior Banxico authorization under Ley Fintech Art. 30 retrieved M5 binding in force
  5. T3 · Global Legal InsightsMexico (individuals and non-financial businesses) — No specific VASP licence is required to buy, sell or hold cryptoassets in Mexico; treatment is case-by-case depending on token characteristics. retrieved M4 binding in force
  6. T3 · Global Legal InsightsBanks and IFPEs — Financial institutions may only operate with virtual assets previously authorised by Banxico and under CNBV supervision, per Fintech Law Art. 30. retrieved M5 binding in force
  7. T4 · CCNBanxico Circular 4/2019 — Effectively bars banks and licensed fintechs from offering crypto custody, exchange or transmission services directly to retail clients. retrieved M4 binding in force
  8. T4Mexico (regulated financial institutions) — Regulated financial institutions (banks, brokerages) are prohibited from offering virtual-asset exchange, custody or transfer services directly to the public; Banxico, CNBV and SHCP jointly reaffirmed this prohibition retrieved M5 binding in force
  9. T3CNBV Acuerdo (DOF 18 May 2026) — Administratively simplified eight procedures for ITFs (including AML/CFT reporting portal consolidation), described as procedural only with no change to underlying substantive obligations retrieved M2 binding in force
  10. T3Comisión Nacional Bancaria y de Valores (CNBV) — Virtual-asset operations in Mexico may only be carried out by CNBV-authorized ITFs, for internal operations only, subject to prior Banxico authorization retrieved M5 binding in force
  11. T4Banco de México / CNBV / SHCP — Regulated banks/brokerages prohibited from offering virtual-asset exchange, custody or transfer services directly to the public; virtual assets are not legal tender retrieved M5 binding in force
  12. T3CNBV Acuerdo (DOF 18 May 2026) — CNBV Acuerdo published DOF 18 May 2026 administratively simplified eight ITF procedures, procedural only, no change to substantive obligations retrieved M2 binding in force
  13. T1Instituciones de Tecnología Financiera (IFPE/IFC) — CNBV authorisation to transact in virtual assets, limited to activities Banxico has determined are permitted retrieved M5 binding in force
  14. T3Regulated financial institutions (banks and ITFs) — Offering virtual-asset custody, exchange or transmission services directly to the public without prior Banxico authorisation retrieved M5 binding in force
  15. T4CNBV / industry — Industry and CNBV's new chair opened informal 'Fintech Law 2.0' discussions in June 2026 seeking tiered crypto-custody and open-finance licensing; no bill text or legislative timetable exists as of this cycle. retrieved M3 non-binding

#

Mexico lacks a comprehensive statutory taxonomy for token types. The Ley Fintech references only the broad category 'activos virtuales' (virtual assets) without sub-classifying tokens by function. CNBV instead applies the existing Securities Market Law investment-contract test on a case-by-case basis (as in the Etherfuse no-action resolution) to decide whether a given token requires securities authorization. Peso-referenced stablecoins such as Bitso/Juno's MXNB have launched without a dedicated stablecoin classification or issuance-authorization regime.

C2 · Token Classification — Full Module Record0 sub-modules · 180 words · 9 traced claims · Re-verified 2026-11-04

The decision headline, regulatory posture (Amber), primary framework, and supervisory authority above are open on the Free Explore layer. Register free with a business email for 3 full-record passes a month, or unlock all 170 jurisdictions with Pro (£39/mo · £99/mo all products) or Firm (£199/mo · £449/mo all products).

#

No Mexican statute or regulator guidance was identified that specifically addresses staking, DeFi lending, DEX operation, mining, node operation, validator activity, or tokenization as distinct regulated categories. On-chain activities fall into the same general 'healthy distance' policy gap as other virtual-asset dealings, with no dedicated licensing, disclosure, or prudential treatment located in the research pass.

C3 · On-Chain Activity — Full Module Record0 sub-modules · 180 words · 2 traced claims · Re-verified 2026-11-04

The decision headline, regulatory posture (Red), primary framework, and supervisory authority above are open on the Free Explore layer. Register free with a business email for 3 full-record passes a month, or unlock all 170 jurisdictions with Pro (£39/mo · £99/mo all products) or Firm (£199/mo · £449/mo all products).

#

Mexico has no dedicated stablecoin statute governing issuance authorization, reserve requirements, redemption rights, disclosure, or systemic designation. Banxico's December 2025 year-end report explicitly cited stablecoin-related risks among its reasons for maintaining a 'healthy distance' between virtual assets and the financial system, signaling regulatory caution rather than an enacted framework. Market-driven stablecoins such as MXNB operate on voluntary full-backing and redemption commitments rather than statutory mandates.

Horizon · 2027 (± more than a year)Murat Initiative (AVE stablecoin bill) pending Senate voteProposed · Tier 3 source
Horizon · 2027 (± a year)AVE stablecoin bill committee progressProposed · Tier 3 source
C4 · Stablecoins & EMTs — Full Module Record0 sub-modules · 180 words · 9 traced claims · Re-verified 2026-11-04

The decision headline, regulatory posture (Red), primary framework, and supervisory authority above are open on the Free Explore layer. Register free with a business email for 3 full-record passes a month, or unlock all 170 jurisdictions with Pro (£39/mo · £99/mo all products) or Firm (£199/mo · £449/mo all products).

#

Consumer protection in the crypto space is addressed principally through repeated joint public-risk warnings by SHCP, Banxico and CNBV (2014, 2017, 2019, and June 2021), reiterated in Banxico's December 2025 year-end report, rather than through a dedicated custody-segregation, complaint-handling, or suitability regime for virtual-asset service providers. The 2021 communiqué explicitly frames the restriction on regulated institutions dealing in virtual assets as a consumer/system-protection measure.

Standing sub-brief · as of 25 August 2026 112 words · last cycle 2026-10-04

Consumer Protection

No dedicated crypto-specific consumer-protection regime -- covering disclosure, custody segregation, or suitability -- was identified this cycle. The only backstop currently in force is criminal rather than regulatory: individuals who mishandle clients' virtual assets face three to nine years' imprisonment and fines of 5,000 to 150,000 UMA, and no dedicated pre-contractual risk-disclosure regime was identified alongside that penalty provision (CLM-MX-45e6f708).

No new data since the standing brief. 1 periodic run re-emitted it unchanged.

Sources and findings (3)
  1. T3CoinDesk — SHCP, Banxico and CNBV jointly reiterated warnings (originally issued in 2014, 2017 and 2019) about the risks of using cryptocurrencies as a medium of exchange, store of value, or investment, and clarified that financial institutions dealing with virtual assets without authorization would face sanctions. retrieved M4 binding in force
  2. T3 · Global Legal InsightsIndividuals mishandling clients' virtual assets — Face 3-9 years' imprisonment and fines of 5,000-150,000 UMA for improper handling of clients' virtual assets; no dedicated pre-contractual risk-disclosure regime identified. retrieved M3 binding in force

#

No crypto-specific Mexican tax statute or SAT (Servicio de Administración Tributaria) ruling was located during this research pass covering capital gains, income tax, VAT/IVA, withholding, or reporting obligations for virtual assets. General provisions of the Ley del Impuesto Sobre la Renta would presumptively apply to gains on disposal of any asset class, and general IVA rules would presumptively apply to VAT-taxable transactions, but no primary SAT guidance specific to crypto was confirmed in this pass. This module should be treated as a research gap requiring primary-source escalation.

C6 · Tax Treatment — Full Module Record0 sub-modules · 180 words · 3 traced claims · Re-verified 2026-11-04

The decision headline, regulatory posture (Red), primary framework, and supervisory authority above are open on the Free Explore layer. Register free with a business email for 3 full-record passes a month, or unlock all 170 jurisdictions with Pro (£39/mo · £99/mo all products) or Firm (£199/mo · £449/mo all products).

#

Following the Ley Fintech's entry into force, virtual-asset exchanges operating in Mexico became subject to reporting-threshold obligations to the UIF, and Mexico's cross-border financial channels involving virtual-asset-adjacent institutions have separately drawn U.S. Treasury/FinCEN sanctions-nexus action targeting cartel-linked money laundering. No outbound capital-control restriction specific to crypto was identified; the principal cross-border exposure is AML/sanctions-nexus reporting rather than an outbound restriction.

C7 · Cross-Border & Travel Rule — Full Module Record0 sub-modules · 180 words · 6 traced claims · Re-verified 2026-11-04

The decision headline, regulatory posture (Amber), primary framework, and supervisory authority above are open on the Free Explore layer. Register free with a business email for 3 full-record passes a month, or unlock all 170 jurisdictions with Pro (£39/mo · £99/mo all products) or Firm (£199/mo · £449/mo all products).

#

Crypto AML/CFT obligations for MX are consumed via the Financial Integrity Module (FIM) subscription to aml_ctf; per fleet doctrine, this baseline does not independently produce aml_ctf/aml_cft claims. For disambiguation context only: Mexico's Unidad de Inteligencia Financiera (UIF) supervises AML/CFT compliance by virtual-asset-related obligated entities under the Ley Federal para la Prevención e Identificación de Operaciones con Recursos de Procedencia Ilícita (LFPIORPI) and the Ley Fintech's reporting provisions; UIF has previously flagged unregistered exchanges for non-compliance.

C8 · AML/CFT Regime — Full Module Record0 sub-modules · 180 words · 4 traced claims · Re-verified 2026-11-04

The decision headline, regulatory posture (Amber), primary framework, and supervisory authority above are open on the Free Explore layer. Register free with a business email for 3 full-record passes a month, or unlock all 170 jurisdictions with Pro (£39/mo · £99/mo all products) or Firm (£199/mo · £449/mo all products).

#

## Commercial Activity Two discrete commercial events define this cycle's crypto-sector activity in Mexico, both centered on Bitso's MXNB peso-referenced stablecoin. On 11 June 2026, Ripple and Bitso announced an expanded partnership deploying MXNB onto the XRP Ledger's Permissioned DEX, targeting US-Mexico enterprise settlement use cases; the commercial terms of the partnership were not publicly disclosed. Five days later, on 16 June 2026, the Morpho Association launched what is reported as the first on-chain Mexican-peso-denominated credit market, using MXNB as the base settlement asset; this product launch was also completed without disclosed commercial terms between Morpho and Bitso. Separately, Morpho itself is reported to have raised approximately 175 million US dollars with participation from Apollo Funds and Circle Ventures, though this reported figure was not independently verified this cycle and relates to Morpho's broader corporate financing rather than specifically to the Mexican peso-market product. Both the Ripple/Bitso settlement expansion and the Morpho peso-credit-market launch occurred, and continue to operate, entirely outside Mexico's LRITF/Circular 4/2019 licensing perimeter. Neither Bitso's stablecoin-issuance function nor Morpho's DeFi lending-protocol operation is a CNBV-authorized Institución de Tecnología Financiera activity, and neither product required Banxico authorization under the statutory framework that governs only regulated institutions' virtual-asset activity. This is a structural feature of Mexico's current regime rather than a gap specific to these two products: the LRITF's Article 30 licensing requirement applies only to CNBV-authorized ITFs transacting in virtual assets the Banxico has determined are permitted, and neither Bitso's broader stablecoin operations nor Morpho's protocol fall within that authorized-institution category. Separately, Mexico's fintech industry, led by figures including CNBV president Ángel Cabrera, continues to advocate for a 'Fintech Law 2.0' reform that would introduce a dedicated virtual-asset-service-provider licensing tier alongside open-finance rules. The push is reported to have support from over 1,000 companies, indicating broad industry appetite for regulatory clarity, but no bill has yet been introduced before Congress, and the reform remains at the advocacy and discussion stage. A separate, narrower CNBV Acuerdo reported in May 2026 simplified eight administrative procedures applicable to already-authorized ITFs, a compliance-easing measure for the existing regulated population rather than an expansion of the regulatory perimeter to cover activity of the kind Bitso and Morpho are conducting. — Outlook: The commercial trajectory for Mexican peso-denominated stablecoin and DeFi activity points toward continued scaling absent any change to the underlying licensing perimeter, unless and until the Fintech Law 2.0 advocacy effort produces an actual legislative text. Watch for whether any CNBV or Banxico statement addresses the specific products described here, which would be the first indication of regulatory attention turning toward this now-established commercial pattern rather than remaining silent on activity occurring outside the authorized-institution perimeter.

Open gap — crypto-int-3Are there CNBV-authorized ITFs engaged in disclosed M&A, funding or partnership activity this cycle?commercial_activity module not exhaustively searched this pass
Periodic update · new data 2026-11-03

Commercial Activity

Two discrete commercial events define the crypto-sector activity in Mexico, both centered on Bitso's MXNB peso-referenced stablecoin. On 11 June 2026, Ripple and Bitso announced an expanded partnership deploying MXNB onto the XRP Ledger's Permissioned DEX, targeting US-Mexico enterprise settlement use cases; the commercial terms of the partnership were not publicly disclosed. Five days later, on 16 June 2026, the Morpho Association launched what is reported as the first on-chain Mexican-peso-denominated credit market, using MXNB as the base settlement asset; this product launch was also completed without disclosed commercial terms between Morpho and Bitso. Separately, Morpho itself is reported to have raised approximately 175 million US dollars with participation from Apollo Funds and Circle Ventures, though this reported figure was not independently verified and relates to Morpho's broader corporate financing rather than specifically to the Mexican peso-market product.

Both the Ripple/Bitso settlement expansion and the Morpho peso-credit-market launch occurred, and continue to operate, entirely outside Mexico's LRITF/Circular 4/2019 licensing perimeter. Neither Bitso's stablecoin-issuance function nor Morpho's DeFi lending-protocol operation is a CNBV-authorized Institución de Tecnología Financiera activity, and neither product required Banxico authorization under the statutory framework that governs only regulated institutions' virtual-asset activity. This is a structural feature of Mexico's current regime rather than a gap specific to these two products: the LRITF's Article 30 licensing requirement applies only to CNBV-authorized ITFs transacting in virtual assets the Banxico has determined are permitted, and neither Bitso's broader stablecoin operations nor Morpho's protocol fall within that authorized-institution category.

Separately, Mexico's fintech industry, led by figures including CNBV president Ángel Cabrera, continues to advocate for a 'Fintech Law 2.0' reform that would introduce a dedicated virtual-asset-service-provider licensing tier alongside open-finance rules. The push is reported to have support from over 1,000 companies, indicating broad industry appetite for regulatory clarity, but no bill has yet been introduced before Congress, and the reform remains at the advocacy and discussion stage. A separate, narrower CNBV Acuerdo reported in May 2026 simplified eight administrative procedures applicable to already-authorized ITFs, a compliance-easing measure for the existing regulated population rather than an expansion of the regulatory perimeter to cover activity of the kind Bitso and Morpho are conducting.

Outlook

The commercial trajectory for Mexican peso-denominated stablecoin and DeFi activity points toward continued scaling absent any change to the underlying licensing perimeter, unless and until the Fintech Law 2.0 advocacy effort produces an actual legislative text. Watch for whether any CNBV or Banxico statement addresses the specific products described here, which would be the first indication of regulatory attention turning toward this now-established commercial pattern rather than remaining silent on activity occurring outside the authorized-institution perimeter.

Sources and findings (3)
  1. T3Ripple and Bitso — MXNB stablecoin on XRP Ledger's Permissioned DEX for USD/MXN enterprise settlement retrieved M3 non-binding
  2. T3Morpho Association — First on-chain Mexican-peso-denominated credit market using Bitso's MXNB stablecoin retrieved M3 non-binding
  3. T3Mexican fintech industry (led by CNBV president Ángel Cabrera) — 'Fintech Law 2.0' creating a dedicated VASP licensing tier and open-finance rules retrieved M3 non-binding
No categories match.

Filters combine as OR inside a group and AND across groups.

Provenance and declared absence

Disclosure model: module cards load OPEN; standing positions render in full; sub-briefs and jurisdiction briefs load as a clamped teaser with an explicit “read full” control carrying the true word count; earlier updates stay collapsed behind a counted summary. No text is hidden without disclosing how much of it there is.

Sentinel-fed modules receive no special rendering treatment. sentinel_feed is an attribution chip only: it does not suppress content, does not generate an absence reason code, and does not exclude the module from any count, filter, search index or export on this page.

Family taxonomy is renderer-level presentation config, not a JID field. Colour is always duplicated in text and is never the sole carrier of meaning.

Suppressed by doctrine: derived risk score; per-module RAG traffic light. Not shown on this page.

Band honesty: uncertainty bands are computed against a frozen build clock of 2026-11-04. A year-precision row is never promoted into a tighter band.

Orphan deltas: 0 cycle_delta row(s) target non-module objects and are listed in the rail rather than attached to a card.

Envelope: baseline resolved at jurisdiction_json.baseline; 9 module(s), 50 finding(s), 31 source(s) in the cumulative register.

Audit trail

Machine checkChallenged on 24 Oct 2026: not upheld (10 confirmed against the cited source; 1 contradicted by the cited source; 14 could not be checked). An automated, adversarial test run by a second model; no person has assessed the result.

Think something on this page is wrong? Report an error.